The Wallaby Club was founded in 1894 and held its first official walk on 23 June 1894. The Club motto À Votre Santé [to your health] neatly captures the spirit of the Club and its objectives of walking, talking, good companionship and entertaining engagement.
In 1894, ‘it occurred to a Melbourne physician, Dr Henry, that there was room for a club embodying the Johnsonian definition, “an assembly of good fellows, meeting under certain conditions”, and including some special qualifications that would form a bond of sympathy between members. Professional men, including artists, teachers, musicians, writers, and thinking men of all kinds, men who had done something for their calling or for their community, were to be sought. One thing in addition was essential. Members must be fond of walking, not in the athletic sense – athleticism was rather anathema to the founder and projectors of the Club – but as a means of reasonable outdoor enjoyment that would be conducive to health, conversation and good companionship.’ [From: Attwood, Harold (ed.), The History of the Wallaby Club, 1894-1994, Volume 1 1894-1943; Volume 2 1944-1954; The Centenary History 1955-1994, Landscape Publications, Mont Albert, 1993, 143 pp.]
Explore the Wallaby Club Historical Compendium to find out more about this unusual club.
A Private Club
The Wallaby Club is a Melbourne-based walking club established in 1894 with a strong bias towards good fellowship, talking and an appreciation of both the natural and built environments. Membership is strictly limited and is by invitation only.