Established 1894

The Wallaby Club .Inc

Biographical entry Scott, Ernest



Sir Ernest Scott joined the Wallaby Club in 1900 and maintained his membership until his death in 1939. He was President in 1927. He was a most noted Professor of History at the University of Melbourne (1913-1936), Dean of the Faculty of Arts and President of the Professorial Board. He published several books including Short History of Australia (1916). In 1939 he was President of the Australian and New Zealand Association for the Advancement of Science (ANZAAS). He is the brother-in-law of E.C. Dyson.



1900 - 1939
Membership - Wallaby Club

Related Official Positions

Related People

Sources used to compile this entry: Attwood, Harold (ed.), The Centenary History of the Wallaby Club, Landscape Publications, Mont Albert, 1993. List of members page 139, additional references page 21, 24, 39, 44, 62, 63, 64, 71, 95, photographs page 42.

Prepared by: Gavan McCarthy

A Private Club

The Wallaby Club is a Melbourne-based walking club established in 1894 with a strong bias towards good fellowship, talking and an appreciation of both the natural and built environments. Membership is strictly limited and is by invitation only.

Browse Entries

Browse Walks

Dates and details of annual walks from 1894.