Established 1894

The Wallaby Club .Inc

Biographical entry Swan, John M.


academic, chemist and university administrator


Professor John Swan joined the Wallaby Club in 1953. He was elected President in 1984, appointed Convenor of the Wallaby Club Centenary Subcommittee and later awarded honorary life membership. He was Professor of Organic Chemistry, Pro Vice Chancellor and Dean of the Faculty of Science at Monash University.


His other appointments include:

President of the Council of University College;
Member of Victorian Coastal Council;
Chairman of Hallmark Dell Pty Ltd;
Chairman of Westernport Seagrass Partnership;
Chairman of Board of Management of the Cooperative Research Centre for Southern Hemisphere Meteorology (1993-99);
Board Member of Westernport Region Water Authority (1992-2000);
Chairman of ANZAAS for three years;
Trustee of Victorian Conservation Trust (now Trust for Nature) for 12 years and Chairman in 1981-82.
Chairman of Crown-of-Thorns Starfish Research Committee of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (1985-93);
Chairman of the Australian Marine Sciences and Technologies Advisory Committee of the Federal Government (1981-84).


1953 -
Membership - Wallaby Club

Related Official Positions

Related Organisations

Sources used to compile this entry: Attwood, Harold (ed.), The Centenary History of the Wallaby Club, Landscape Publications, Mont Albert, 1993. List of members page 141, additional references pages 73, 99, 105, 106, 124, photographs pages 102.

Prepared by: Gavan McCarthy

A Private Club

The Wallaby Club is a Melbourne-based walking club established in 1894 with a strong bias towards good fellowship, talking and an appreciation of both the natural and built environments. Membership is strictly limited and is by invitation only.

Browse Entries

Browse Walks

Dates and details of annual walks from 1894.